Hello

Sponsored Links

Topic: I'm A Square Pin  (Read 2170 times)

• Liked: 0
I'm A Square Pin
« on: March 23, 2023, 12:44:19 PM »
I'm a Vietnam era vet who met and married my first wife here in the UK while serving in the USAF back in '69
My experiences with local culture in Suffolk was limited owing to the polite but unwelcoming feelings I picked up on with my sociable attempts. Toleration of Yanks seemed to be the order of the day. Over paid-oversexed-and over here also seemed to be the local narative.

I brought my new wife to my last four month assignment at Laredo Texas before my separation and back to my job awaiting me on my return to New York City.  We lived with my folks for a short stay while house hunting.  I soon found a one-bedroom flat in a large apartment block complex in another Brooklyn neighborhood.  I returned to the job I loved as a telephone repairman working Central Park east to the East River.  My wife Jill found a receptionist job at Bache & co. then the second-largest stock brokerage in the
world. (Merrill Lynch was the biggest)

We had a good life, frequent nightclubbing, restauranting, Broadway shows, etc. Then she got pregnant.
Jill came from a small Suffolk town and was very naive.  She allowed herself to get ripped off big time losing most of our joint account savings.  She decided she could not tolerate NYC anymore, so I quit the job I loved and we emigrated to Suffolk UK living with her widowed mom until we found our own place.