Hello

Sponsored Links

Topic: Pensions from previous country (now living in UK)  (Read 637 times)

• Liked: 0
Pensions from previous country (now living in UK)
« on: August 10, 2024, 11:57:35 AM »
Hi,

I hope this is the right area for this post as it's not quite tax-related, but didn't feel right in the 'on the job' section!

I have been living and working in the UK since 2016 and have full citizenship (as well as US citizenship from birth). We are married and have 3 kids and it's highly likely we will live and work here for the rest of our lives, hence why I am looking to port my pensions over from my previous living situations:

1) Between 2005 and 2011 I was living and working in the US, mostly part time or seasonal jobs
2) From 2011 to 2013, I was a student at a Canadian University but also employed as a teaching assistant.
3) From 2013 to 2015 I was travelling but still a Canadian resident
4) From 2015 to 2016 I had a full time job in Canada

Given there are likely a lot of different pensions across various roles in different countries, I'm unsure generally where to start.

For most of these positions I will not likely have anything in terms of payslips or references to pension contributions, with the exception of point 4 (2015 to 2016 full time job in Canada).

Even if transferring all of the previous pensions over into a UK one isn't ideal for whatever reasons (e.g. tax), is it possible to transfer into a single pension pot so I can at least monitor and have visibility/clarity on what I'm entitled to in the future?

Is anyone able to offer any advice? Many thanks in advance.

• Liked: 734
Re: Pensions from previous country (now living in UK)
« Reply #1 on: August 10, 2024, 01:58:05 PM »