Hello

Sponsored Links

Topic: Anyone else studying law in UK?  (Read 1254 times)

• Liked: 0
Anyone else studying law in UK?
« on: February 08, 2005, 11:13:15 PM »
I'm currently a US undergrad living in the States and married to a UK citizen. We're planning on moving to the UK as soon as I graduate and I'm going to undertake the daunting but exciting task of studying law (i.e. doing GDL, then LPC, then training contract) in the UK. If anyone else has had any experience with being an American studying law in the UK, especially with regards to figuring out the equivalency of US grades/degrees, interviewing as an international candidate, etc, I would love to hear from you!

Re: Anyone else studying law in UK?
« Reply #1 on: February 09, 2005, 12:31:48 PM »
I'm starting in Autumn, but I'm not doing a conversion course, which would be 2 years full time.  Reason being 1) I can't afford to go full-time, as I also have to work full-time to support the family 2) the conversion degree is 'ordinary' w/no chance of changing to honours.  In Scotland, it's virtually impossible to get funding for the diploma course (£7,000 fee) if you have not done honours.  I'm in my mid-30s and we live debt-free, so I don't want to incur any debts whilst making this career change. 

By the time I qualify as a solicitor (a three year process beyond the degree), I'll be a naturalised UK national who has been residing in Scotland for well over 10 years, so I'll be interviewing as a 'home' candidate.  I also waited three years before beginning my course of study so that I do not have to pay international fees. 

• Hi there.
  • Liked: 0
Re: Anyone else studying law in UK?
« Reply #2 on: February 21, 2005, 10:38:22 AM »
Hi there,