Hello

Sponsored Links

Topic: MA to phD question....  (Read 1692 times)

MA to phD question....
« on: August 15, 2003, 10:57:13 PM »
Hi everyone,

To Quote myself in an email to a aquantaince studying at SOAS:

"Only one "burning" question left (at least these days lol.) Should my Masters programme be directly related to my possible PHD? The reason I ask is because I have two main academic passions: Political Science and the broad range of "South Asian" studies. Obviously, the main research
focus of a PHD is very very specific. My question is in regard to the comprehensive exam one takes upon finishing their MA. Is this exam "general" enough as to qualify  one for a PHD in another area of study; or will I have to pick my MA and "stick with it" through the PHD (if I go
for such study.)

Ie: If I got my MA in Diplomacy but decided to go for PHD
work/research in the South Asian field would that be feasible?

For those of you involved in postgraduate study, what is your take on this?thank you!

Samantha***
:)

• Liked: 0
Re: MA to phD question....
« Reply #1 on: August 19, 2003, 04:35:24 PM »
Hi Samantha,
well, at least in my case, my MA doesn't have much to do with the PhD program I am interested in...and I talked to the advisors over in the UK and they don't seem to have a problem with it. They seem to focus on what your research topic is and if you have a clear idea of how you want to conduct and organize it. As far as I know, they are willing to work with you on that. I think a lot of Ph D research are interdisplinary anyway so it actually helps to have a MA in different area.
Stella

« Reply #2 on: August 19, 2003, 09:12:04 PM »
Hi Stella!

Thanks so much for posting!  :)It seems that nobody is really clear on the "qualifications" for specific phD study in regards to a previous obtained MA---not even PhD stdudents at SOAS.[smiley=inquisitive.gif]