Hello

Sponsored Links

Topic: Budget for Living Expenses? Sorry to ask again.....  (Read 1551 times)

• Friday is Hawaiian shirt day!
    • Personal Site
  • Liked: 0
Budget for Living Expenses? Sorry to ask again.....
« on: June 27, 2005, 05:22:21 PM »
Hello,

I am a Social Worker who is currently working through the process of coming over to the UK.  My position will be in London (not sure of the location yet).  I know this question may have been asked before, but I could not find the specific threads.

I am looking for information on living expenses for a one bedroom apartment.

Specifically what I am looking for is:

1) Electricity
2) Gas
3) Water
4) Phone
5) Broadband
6) Mobile Phone

Also, we are budgeting for food.  Do you think 100 GBP a week is enough for a couple? 

Thank you so much for your help.  I am so excited to find an online community like this.  I look forward to chatting with you all in the future.
"Being president is like running a cemetery: you've got a lot of people under you and nobody's listening." –Bill Clinton

Re: Budget for Living Expenses? Sorry to ask again.....
« Reply #1 on: June 27, 2005, 06:04:22 PM »
I have a 2 bedroom apartment:

Electricity and Gas - I've got a "dual fuel" deal (get both from the same supplier), and pay 40 a month. Which is a little too much
Water - Thames Water seem to charge me 32.91 a month (direct debit, they take it automatically out of my account)
Phone - Line rentals something like 40 a quarter, you can get all sorts of discounts and plans. Go to bt.com and telewest.co.uk to give yourself an idea.
Broadband - Costs me 21.99 a month for a 2Mbps connection
Mobile Phone - Haven't got a clue, there are more call plans than phones to use them. But 3 have a 500 mins a month plan for 25.

• Witchiepoo
  • Liked: 3
« Reply #2 on: June 27, 2005, 06:12:04 PM »