Hello

Sponsored Links

Topic: UK Attitudes: asylum seekers...  (Read 2019 times)

UK Attitudes: asylum seekers...
« on: September 08, 2003, 10:45:17 AM »
Hello everyone,

For the moment I will keep the question short and simple, though I am certain that I could go into much more detail about what I am asking.

It has been my observation that the British Attitude regarding Asylum seekers is a very negative one. Without specifying names I have a British friend who is of Asian (Desi-Indian) ancestry and what continously surprises me is how resentful he is of these individuals. Though his parents immigrated to England several years ago.

Without doing much core research yet, is my understanding that shelter and many social immenities is given to those granted asylum? Is this the reason for resentment? What have been your experiences and observations?

As I am currently studying International Human rights law at my University this would be a valuable discussion.

thank you,

Samantha***

• Fat people are hard to kidnap.
    • Flickr
  • Liked: 0
Re:  UK Attitudes: asylum seekers...
« Reply #1 on: September 08, 2003, 02:14:19 PM »
Ok... this is my own personally opinion.  And it is based merely on hearsay, as I refuse to watch the news.

From what I understand, asylum seekers are given a home and an allowance, but aren't allowed to work, right?

This is what I'm having problems with.  I TOTALLY understand letting them in, giving them adequate housing  (but I'm talking, apartments/flats here) and getting them on their feet.  I can't imagine coming from a country from which I would NEED asylum, I'm sure it's terrible. And I think as human beings, we need to look out for each other.  The part I have problems with is the allowance and no work.  Why not make these people work for their living?  Even if it's disproportionate to their income.