Hello

Sponsored Links

Topic: Newbie checking in for requisite whine...help!  (Read 1603 times)

• California Dreamin'
  • Liked: 0
Newbie checking in for requisite whine...help!
« on: September 25, 2003, 05:01:53 AM »
Well I guess I've lurked here long enough and finally decided to join up and seek some kinship.  :-/ I fear this will deteriorate into a "whinging" session (see...I'm trying to adapt!), but I'll try not to bore you in the process.

I have lived here for about 10 months now; married to a native Londoner since April '03 and officially on my Settlement Visa since then. So you'd think I'd be ok by now...acclimated and all. You'd THINK.

I did come into this with eyes wide open and knew it would be hard being away from friends and family for the first time in my life. Heck, it's my first time ever living outside of Southern California! But I found the living, breathing man of my dreams...the man I never believed I'd find and the man who I would follow to the ends of the Earth if need be. And that man makes me happy to be alive every single hour of every day...just wanted to get that confirmed first!

But I never thought it would be THIS hard. I have always been a workaholic, with tons of friends and all my family within close distance. I was fairly successful in my career, independent, active and addicted to my SUV. Now I have no friends, no car (can't drive hubby's stick shift...lame, I know), no job and pretty much no life.

The one bright spot in this dreary existence was the discovery, upon returning home from our wedding and honeymoon in the States that we were expecting! It was truly a honeymoon baby and we couldn't have been more thrilled (or surprised). I had planned on looking for a job now that I had my visa, but with this new condition upon me, I decided not to.