Hello

Sponsored Links

Topic: Moving to the UK: work permit/visa guidance requested  (Read 609 times)

• Liked: 0
Moving to the UK: work permit/visa guidance requested
« on: February 02, 2006, 06:34:24 AM »
I'm working for a US software company based in California that has a small office in the UK. I'm wanting to move to the UK to live with my girlfriend (an employee in the UK office). The company has the need and is willing to create a position for me in the UK. Ideally I'll be going over for a month (perhaps April), then back in the States for 4+ weeks, then moving over to the UK (early June). The nature of the work I'll be doing will be providing software training for clients in the UK and Europe, help desk support, and coordinating translation efforts between distributors and the California R&D team. I have 15 years experience training and consulting; 2+ years with this company.

My company has asked me to determine everything necessary for the initial trip and the move regarding visas, a work permit, etc. I've been doing a lot of research on the internet and have found a wealth of information--but it's still a bit of a jumble, and some of it is contradictory.

I believe I won't need a visa or work permit for the first trip because it will only be for a month. (or because of the nature of the work, performing services for clients in the UK--would a permit be necessary even for this?)

For the move around June, I believe I will need a work permit (Business & Commercial) and because I'll be staying more than 6 months also a visa. My girlfriend in the UK office can coordinate the efforts for obtaining the work permit--she just needs to know what's necessary. After the work permit is obtained I can get a visa from the LA consulate.

My hope is that some of you folks here might be able to give me suggestions regarding the do's and don'ts for my situation, what should I or shouldn't I do regarding the whole permit and visa process.