Hello

Sponsored Links

Topic: I'm new to this!  (Read 2519 times)

• Liked: 0
I'm new to this!
« on: February 09, 2006, 02:54:47 PM »
Hello, I posted over in the Welcome Wagon, and got pointed over here to say hi.  Basically, I'm a British (scottish actually) chap living in London, who's gone and found himself falling for a girl who lives 5000 miles away.  She's just spent six weeks here with me, and I was heartbroken to put her on the plane home.  We're crazy about each other, and in the six weeks together, we talked about a lot of things, with a major topic being how we can possibly find a way to live together.  At the moment, we're concentrating on trying to get my girl work in the UK.  She's a journo, and not eligible under Highly Skilled Migrants, so basically, it's a case of her finding work with a paper, magazine or journal in the UK and getting them to sponsor a working visa.  It's a competitive field, and we both know this might take a while.  I just wondered if anyone else is/has been in a similar situation, and if so, what were some of the ways that you coped, how did you accelerate the job-finding process and what are the options in a case like this.  I miss her so badly, and all I can think about is getting her back over here as soon as I can.

Thanks guys

Dave

• Liked: 2
Re: I'm new to this!
« Reply #1 on: February 09, 2006, 03:13:24 PM »
Hi Dave welcome aboard! no doubt you'll find some useful info over in the visa and job boards for Valerie.  My husband is a journalist also and has used this site for jobhunting: http://www.holdthefrontpage.co.uk/index.shtml

Needless to say the visa issue becomes a lot easier if you are married, but I understand this is early days for you.  When do you think she'll be able to come back for a visit, or you over there?

« Reply #2 on: February 10, 2006, 12:08:49 AM »