Hello

Sponsored Links

Topic: Marriage, work permits and residency  (Read 611 times)

• MA to UK 2002
  • Liked: 1
Marriage, work permits and residency
« on: June 19, 2006, 11:42:35 PM »
Hi everyone,
I haven't been on here in AGES.  Hope everyone has been doing well :)

I have been working for the past 2 years on a work permit (Sep 04 - now).  It is a 5 year permit, so I can apply for residency etc at some point.

Prior to that, I was on a full time degree prog in Bath (Aug 03-Sep04).  Prior to that, I lived in Oxford on a BUNAC visa and worked for 6 months, with 2 months on a visitors permit. I have always kept an address in the UK since arrival in Nov 02 and have never left for more than 3 months at a time.

I am engaged to a dual Kiwi / Brit citizen who is in the RAF.

My questions are as follows if anyone can help:

1) Do we need to do anything particular in order to get married? Or is it really as straight forward as making an appointment at the registry and turning up? (we are getting married in Thailand so are just planning on doing the registry wedding in the UK beforehand as it will be easier).  Surely there is paperwork involved as I am just on a work permit?

2) Does the time I was in the UK in the past count towards my residency? I want to be able to work for whoever I want and to obtain residency as early as possible so am looking for the most efficient way to do this.  However, I don't want to pay the fee if they are going to reject my application.  I have heard conflicting things.

3) My fiancee was able to push through his citizenship far earlier than standard due to being in the RAF.  Does any of this extend to me?

Thank you very much, I appreciate the help. I have been trawling through the IND website but can't seem to find what I am after.

Glad to be back  ;D
k

• Liked: 0
Re: Marriage, work permits and residency
« Reply #1 on: June 19, 2006, 11:58:08 PM »
Don't know about number 3, but I can help with the first two: