Hello

Sponsored Links

Topic: A two year Masters in Social Work in London?  (Read 1612 times)

• Banned

• Writer, married, semi-employed, and sorta happy...
  • Liked: 4
A two year Masters in Social Work in London?
« on: September 28, 2012, 12:00:52 PM »
So, has anyone been through this? I bet some of you have!

I have a BA from Smith College, with a GPA of well over 3.5, I think it was 3.89? Something like that anyway... It is in History and Psychology.

(I also have a completely useless Masters Degree. I wanted to go for social work, and I was accepted into the top programmes in NY, but I could not afford to go, even WITH the scholarships that were offered, because they were so small, and the top schools are so expensive - so I got a Masters in another field, on full scholarship, which turned out to be useless. Ya get what ya pay for, huh? Sigh.)

I have quite a bit of USA experience with 'underrepresented' populations, and I have just started working part time with formerly incarcerated youth, here in London. And I am really loving it!!! I mean, I LOVE IT. I LOVE THOSE KIDS. And, they seem to really respond to me! So, I'm thinking, again... Social Work degree!

I would be applying AFTER I have ILR. I would apply for the NHS Bursar grant, I think? It seems to be the best way to get funding assistance - maybe the only way... ?

My questions:
My undergrad degree, major, and GPA, are OK, right? (What the heck is a '2.2' here?)
It is two years, full time, right? Not including summers? How do 'semesters' work here?
A full time Masters in Social Work is about how many hours of class a week?
It is during the day, right?
The required 'training placements' which are a part of the degree (thankfully, lol!), are entirely unpaid, right?
Has anyone done the NHS programme???
Is it super hard to be accepted to that programme? I bet it is...
If accepted for funding, do they normally provide a bit of a stipend for living expenses? (It looks like they do... Sometimes.)