Hello

Sponsored Links

Topic: Financing  (Read 3101 times)

• Liked: 0
Financing
« on: January 03, 2013, 02:13:40 PM »
I hope to be applying for a student visa later this year, and I am trying to do some planning.  I will likely be applying for an undergrad program starting this autumn.  I will have enough in cash funds to cover the living expenses requirement, but I am trying to get an idea of how to cover the tuition.  The universities I'm considering so far range from £11,500 - £16,500 per year in tuition fees.  I don't see any major issues with me getting a US Stafford loan for the annual max of $12,500 (approx £7,700), but as an independent undergrad student I will not be eligible for Plus loans, and I am also not counting on being eligible for grants.

It looks like some of the universities have scholarships for international students, but that seems to be a small portion of the tuition fees, and I would guess that not every international student qualifies.  As far as I see, my options are:
   a) build up more savings to be able to cover the difference for each year – but I'm afraid that is not a realistic option.
   b) search for scholarships and apply individually for every scholarship I can find.  I've noticed the international student scholarships offered through some of the universities have deadlines around 30 April for the courses beginning this autumn, and I would imagine there are similar deadlines to other private scholarships.  If so, then I really need to get the ball rolling since you have to be accepted into the uni before I could apply for the scholarships.  I just find the idea of the scholarship process to be daunting, as I would need to come up with £3,800 - £8,800 per year from them.  I do understand that scholarships are obviously a great avenue anyway since you don't have to pay them back, but I am concerned about the viability of counting on them.