Hello
Guest

Sponsored Links


Topic: Laptop - do I need new power cord or converter??  (Read 4825 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

  • *
  • Posts: 12

  • Liked: 0
  • Joined: Dec 2014
Laptop - do I need new power cord or converter??
« on: January 02, 2015, 02:55:26 PM »
Hello:

I have a HP 2000 laptop purchased last July here in the states...what do I need to do to be able to use my laptop in England? New power cord? Converter? If going the converter route what are my options?

Thank you in advance!


  • *
  • Posts: 2898

  • Liked: 163
  • Joined: Feb 2007
  • Location: Biggleswade
Re: Laptop - do I need new power cord or converter??
« Reply #1 on: January 02, 2015, 03:37:43 PM »
Most likely you only need a new power cord to plug into your existing laptop's power adapter.  Look at the label on your power adapter and see if there's a part that says something like "INPUT: 100-240 V~1.7A 50-60 Hz"  If that's there, then all you need is a cord with a UK plug at the end to replace the US one you're using now.


  • *
  • Posts: 735

  • Liked: 47
  • Joined: Mar 2013
  • Location: Cardiff, UK
Re: Laptop - do I need new power cord or converter??
« Reply #2 on: January 02, 2015, 03:55:31 PM »
Most laptops nowadays are fine for dual voltage. I use a simple plug adapter with my MacBook charger from 2011 and I have never had a problem.
April 11, 2012-Began talking online
June 2012-Officially dating
August 2012-Met in person
Aug 2012-Nov 2012-Tier 4 (General)
Aug 2014-present- Tier 4
Oct 2015-Wedding!!! and spouse visa sometime after that and before the Tier 4 expires


  • *
  • *
  • *
  • Posts: 26444

  • Liked: 3474
  • Joined: Jan 2007
Re: Laptop - do I need new power cord or converter??
« Reply #3 on: January 02, 2015, 04:35:35 PM »
Most laptops nowadays are fine for dual voltage. I use a simple plug adapter with my MacBook charger from 2011 and I have never had a problem.

Yeah, same here. All laptops should be dual-voltage as they are designed to be mobile and used anywhere in the world.

I have a US Macbook and I just use it with a US-UK adapter. I've had it for 2 years now and haven't had any problems.

Alternatively, I could buy a power cord with a UK plug on it instead of using the adapter, but they are quite expensive so I haven't bothered so far.


  • *
  • Posts: 1260

  • Liked: 63
  • Joined: Jun 2011
  • Location: Congleton, Cheshire
Re: Laptop - do I need new power cord or converter??
« Reply #4 on: January 02, 2015, 05:36:38 PM »
If you look on the "brick" it will give you the voltage, and I would wager large sums that it says 100-240V. Even my HP printer is dual voltage, so any modern laptop is almost certainly dual. An adapter from the pound store will do the job.
Married December 1992 (my 'old flame' whom I first met in the mid-70s)
1st move to UK - 1993 (Letter of Consent granted at British Embassy in Washington DC)
ILR - 1994 (1 year later - no fee way back then!)
Back to US in 2000
Returned to UK July 2011 (Spousal Visa/KOL endorsement)
ILR - September 2011
Application for naturalization submitted July 2014
Approval received 15-10-14; ceremony scheduled for 10 November!
Passport arrived 25 November 2014. Finally done!


  • *
  • Posts: 12

  • Liked: 0
  • Joined: Dec 2014
Re: Laptop - do I need new power cord or converter??
« Reply #5 on: January 02, 2015, 09:04:39 PM »
Thank you everyone!!!!  I will then use a UK adapter...I appreciate your suggestions/responses!!


  • *
  • Posts: 167

  • Liked: 0
  • Joined: Apr 2012
  • Location: Norwich
Re: Laptop - do I need new power cord or converter??
« Reply #6 on: January 02, 2015, 11:07:12 PM »
I used a uk plug adapter for my older HP laptop (G62 model, bought in 2011) for a long time. Noticed that the box on the cable would get extremely hot at times, so replaced it with a uk cable and box, but later found out that the boxes on my model laptop had actually been recalled due to them overheating, so it had nothing to do with the UK/US thing. :)


  • *
  • Posts: 872

  • Liked: 134
  • Joined: Feb 2014
Re: Laptop - do I need new power cord or converter??
« Reply #7 on: January 03, 2015, 10:25:19 AM »
If your power cord actually comes in two parts (one with the box and one with the plug end) the you can just switch out the plug end of the cord.  My UK plug end cost <£10 on Amazon and is so handy to have.
Met Mr. Beatlemania: 20 Jan 2010
Tier 4 Visa Approved: 17 Sep 2012
Spousal Visa Received:  22 Sep 2014
Ohio to Essex: 26 October 2014
FLR(M): 10 May 2017
ILR: 23 October 2019
Citizenship: 13 June 2022


  • *
  • Posts: 2898

  • Liked: 163
  • Joined: Feb 2007
  • Location: Biggleswade
Re: Laptop - do I need new power cord or converter??
« Reply #8 on: January 03, 2015, 11:38:25 AM »
Alternatively, I could buy a power cord with a UK plug on it instead of using the adapter, but they are quite expensive so I haven't bothered so far.

Are they Mac specific?  I only ask because for an HP laptop you could get a UK plug on Amazon for about a pound.


  • *
  • *
  • *
  • Posts: 26444

  • Liked: 3474
  • Joined: Jan 2007
Re: Laptop - do I need new power cord or converter??
« Reply #9 on: January 03, 2015, 11:51:47 AM »
Are they Mac specific?  I only ask because for an HP laptop you could get a UK plug on Amazon for about a pound.

Actually, I can't remember as it's been a while since I looked - as it works fine with the adapter, I just haven't bothered. Looking on Amazon now, it does seem like you can get fairly cheap ones.

I have had to replace the brick part of the power cord twice now - the first time, Apple replaced it for me for free as it was still under warranty, but they only gave me the brick part of the cable. The other time I ordered one off Amazon, but again it only came with the brick half of the cable. I do have a UK plug that goes straight into the brick, but not a longer cable with the UK plug on the end.


  • *
  • Posts: 735

  • Liked: 47
  • Joined: Mar 2013
  • Location: Cardiff, UK
Re: Laptop - do I need new power cord or converter??
« Reply #10 on: January 03, 2015, 02:04:19 PM »
Are they Mac specific?  I only ask because for an HP laptop you could get a UK plug on Amazon for about a pound.

I think they are. I've never seen another laptop charger that fitted together the same way macs do. I know my pre-Mac laptop didn't.
April 11, 2012-Began talking online
June 2012-Officially dating
August 2012-Met in person
Aug 2012-Nov 2012-Tier 4 (General)
Aug 2014-present- Tier 4
Oct 2015-Wedding!!! and spouse visa sometime after that and before the Tier 4 expires


  • *
  • Posts: 439

  • Liked: 2
  • Joined: Sep 2010
  • Location: Exeter, UK
Re: Re: Laptop - do I need new power cord or converter??
« Reply #11 on: January 04, 2015, 01:20:28 AM »
If your power cord actually comes in two parts (one with the box and one with the plug end) the you can just switch out the plug end of the cord.  My UK plug end cost <£10 on Amazon and is so handy to have.
I'd had to do this for the US end as the dog had chewed through it (luckily not while plugged in!) but I can't for the life of me remember what specifically that part is called. Is it literally just called "plug end"? I don't need an end replacement now but never know for the future.


  • *
  • Posts: 872

  • Liked: 134
  • Joined: Feb 2014
Re: Laptop - do I need new power cord or converter??
« Reply #12 on: January 06, 2015, 01:37:22 PM »
No idea if there is a more formal name.  The plug dohicky usually gets the point across.   ;) :P
Met Mr. Beatlemania: 20 Jan 2010
Tier 4 Visa Approved: 17 Sep 2012
Spousal Visa Received:  22 Sep 2014
Ohio to Essex: 26 October 2014
FLR(M): 10 May 2017
ILR: 23 October 2019
Citizenship: 13 June 2022


Sponsored Links





 

coloured_drab