Hello

Sponsored Links

Topic: Frustration  (Read 1306 times)

• Smiley Gifts World
  • Liked: 1
Frustration
« on: November 17, 2004, 01:36:49 PM »
Let me begin by saying-- I know I haven't been looking for a terribly long time---BUT! I am beginning to become a bit frustrated with the job hunting scene. I have 7 years experience as a teaching assistant in the US and some certifications and education to go along with the job. However; I can't seem to even get an interview here :(. There was one job in particular that was exactly what I have been doing for 7 years....I went to the school and spent a morning in the classroom..I feel I made a good impression on the classroom staff-- yet still didn't get an interview.
My gut instinct is it is just easier for them to look at someone with a local history-- with criminal clearances here in the UK with National Insurance number in place...etc.

Any tips? Any ideas? Any of the job recruitment places I have been able to find for this field aren't in this area-- they are all more London based.

anybody need a criminal clearance for their job? if so, how hard to get it when you don't have 5 years in the UK?

Thanks for any help...or even just for letting me moan before I move on to trying again.

Helena

• Liked: 2
Re: Frustration
« Reply #1 on: November 17, 2004, 01:58:54 PM »
Helena

The WHOLE process is slower than molasses in winter.  Trust me! ;)

• Officially a Brit.
« Reply #2 on: November 17, 2004, 02:48:10 PM »
How 'bout all us job seekers have a huge ol' pity party right about now cuz there's no doubt that this SUCKS!
When I was 5 years old, my mother always told me that happiness was the key to life. When I went to school, they asked me what I wanted to be when I grew up. I wrote down ‘happy’. They told me I didn’t understand the assignment, and I told them they didn’t understand life. ~ John Lennon

« Reply #3 on: November 17, 2004, 02:58:16 PM »
i wish you all the best luck.