Hello

Sponsored Links

Topic: new laptop -only connects to internet, ermmm... intermittently  (Read 4638 times)

• Liked: 585
new laptop -only connects to internet, ermmm... intermittently
« on: February 20, 2017, 09:24:52 PM »
Hi guys...I hope maybe one of you clever clogs can give me some advice!

I recently bought a brand-new laptop, but am having difficult using it because it will only connect to the web occasionally. All of the other devices in our house are working fine, and the new laptop does show that it's connected to our Wi-Fi, but 9 times out of 10 I get a 'can't connect' message when I try to use the internet. On the 10th time, it might connect, but only stays connected for a few minutes, then drops out again... all the while, the little symbol that shows I'm connected to Wi-Fi is showing that everything's fine.

I also tried using an Ethernet cable, and got the same results.

I am not technical at all, but if anyone has any advice, I'd be willing to try it. Thanks!

• Liked: 3595
Re: new laptop -only connects to internet, ermmm... intermittently
« Reply #1 on: February 20, 2017, 09:35:43 PM »
Is it a Mac or a Windows laptop?

I had a similar problem recently when trying to connect to a network while I was away - it was self-assigning an IP address which mean it would 'connect' to the network but couldn't actually access the Internet.

It may be that you need to renew the DHCP lease for the connection or change the DNS servers.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

« Reply #2 on: February 20, 2017, 09:47:56 PM »
it's Windows...

I don't know what DHCP or DNS mean, but I can try doing some googling.. thanks for the reply.

• Liked: 533
« Reply #3 on: February 21, 2017, 06:02:43 AM »
When you say you have tried a cable, is it the same cable used with another device which works welll?

Also, when you do finally connect, have you tried doing an online speedcheck?