Hello

Sponsored Links

Topic: Bringing a rabbit to the UK from USA  (Read 3626 times)

• Liked: 3
Bringing a rabbit to the UK from USA
« on: May 22, 2017, 02:09:10 PM »
Hi,

I'm just learning the process of things for now and finding out some of the more complicated parts so we know what my wife would have to do in regard to her animals.

Basically upon reading through various websites I found that rabbits would require going into quarantine, does anyone have a rought idea on length of time and sort of costs this would occur or would it be best to phone the places direct?

If it works out too long in quarantine and/or costly, might have to make other arrangements, but she'd rather avoid this.

She would be bringing her dog with her, from what I understand this is a fairly simple process granted all the requirements are met for health and the pet passport before flying and can be booked onto same flight which going to find out the costs with British Airways(unless someone has an idea on this) as they don't state their prices, they also use an external supplier to arrange this but they do not state prices and it would be cheaper to do a direct flight for my wife with them than to do a flight with United and having to do a layover which could be more stressful for the dog.
Met Wife online - December 2015
Met my wife in December 2016
Married in January 2017
Application Started 17/12/2017
IHS & Visa paid 21/12/2017
Biometrics Appointment 29/12/2017
All documents received and entry permit issued 22/03/2018
Flight Booked 27/03/2018
Wife Arrived in UK 16/04/2018
Collected BRP 20/04/2018

• Liked: 60
Re: Bringing a rabbit to the UK from USA
« Reply #1 on: May 24, 2017, 10:53:53 AM »
I don't have any firsthand experience with importing rabbits, but here's the official site. It lists 4 months of quarantine:
https://www.gov.uk/bringing-food-animals-plants-into-uk/pets-and-other-animals