Hello

Sponsored Links

Topic: Renting a car on US license  (Read 618 times)

• Liked: 1
Renting a car on US license
« on: November 07, 2017, 12:10:47 PM »
Hello!

Long time reader, first time caller.

Quick question to which I seem to have not been able to find a clear answer. I have been in the UK on Tier 4 visa since Sept 2012 (I've renewed twice). I'm a final year phD student and recently married a UK resident.

We were thinking of renting a car to drive down to Cambridge for Christmas (and the football on boxing day) but I have yet to pass my UK driving test (although my instructor thinks I am ready, I just continually take lessons and never book). I know that my NY State license was valid for the first year that I lived here, but does that include renting a car and purchasing insurance through the company? When my parents came over in 2014, my father rented a car and I was added on by the rental company as the second driver (with my NY State license and proof I was a student) and was able to share the driving with him for two weeks.

Am I remiss in thinking that I can rent a car with my US license even though my original entry date was in 2012? I had been here for over 2 years when I drove a rental with my dad. Or to be the lead driver would I have to show my flight information home?

Anyone have any experience with this?

• Liked: 3595
Re: Renting a car on US license
« Reply #1 on: November 07, 2017, 12:17:16 PM »
You only had 12 months to legally drive in the UK on your US licence after you arrived in the UK in 2012.

Once those 12 months were up, if you had not passed the UK tests and did not gain a UK licence, it has been illegal for you to drive in the UK on your US licence. If you wish to drive now, you will need to apply for a UK provisional licence and will be treated like a learner driver until you have passed your tests and have a full UK licence