Hello

Sponsored Links

Topic: Academics?  (Read 778 times)

• Liked: 25
Academics?
« on: March 22, 2018, 06:00:32 PM »
Hi all,

I'm wondering about the application/hiring process for academia in the UK. I've been working in higher ed in the US since 2014, and worked in Ireland as well during/after my PhD. My field is peace & conflict studies, and have also taught in international/global studies, politics, and liberal studies. I'm currently working on the administrative end but looking to get back into teaching once I'm in the UK. I'm on jobs.ac.uk (wish they'd update their app) and THEunijobs (which is repetitive of the jobs.ac.uk posts).

Any insight would be helpful!

Type of Application: Priority Settlement Spouse Visa
Online Application: 24 Feb 18 from CO
Biometrics: 27 Feb 18 in CO
Application sent: 28 Feb 18
Decision email received: 28 Mar 18 (16 BD)
Passport received: 30 Mar 18
Landed in UK: 4 Apr 18

FLR(m) 2020
Applied: 7 Sept 20
Biometrics: 16 Oct 20
Granted: 6 Nov 20

ILR-SET(m)
Applied: 8 Mar 23
Biometrics: 27 Mar 23
Granted: 28 Mar 23

Citizenship
Applied: 17 July 23
Biometrics: 04 Aug 23
Granted: 13 Nov 2023
Ceremony booked: 16 January 2024🇬🇧

• Liked: 674
Re: Academics?
« Reply #1 on: March 23, 2018, 11:28:53 AM »
This is not going to be terribly helpful, but I'm told "it's who you know." Fortunately, I've not had to jump the hoops for an academic job here.  What level institution are you hoping for?

Best of luck!

• Liked: 957
« Reply #2 on: March 23, 2018, 12:02:56 PM »
We have a few academic folks here, but they moved with job offers already in hand from what I remember. Do you have any UK contacts from your studies? I would definitely network as much as possible. Teaching at the university level is always pretty high competition!

Sent from my Nexus 5X using Tapatalk

« Reply #3 on: March 23, 2018, 12:07:38 PM »