Hello

Sponsored Links

Topic: Changing Name in UK and US  (Read 7649 times)

• Liked: 0
Changing Name in UK and US
« on: September 24, 2018, 10:43:51 AM »
Hi all,
I'm new to UK Yankee.

I've been married to a British Citizen for a year and been living in England on Spouse Visa.

I have not changed my name legally either in the US or UK since we got married, as it seems kinda complicated and didn't want to pay my immigration lawyer to help me with it.

I want to change my name but I'm not sure where to start. We are staying in the UK but I still want to change all my US documentation as well.

I want to know how to legally change my name in both countries and also how to update things like: my passport, biometric card, UK and US bank accounts, SSN, credit cards (US), driving license (US), how to inform my employer (UK), National insurance number (UK), NHS, etc.

Anyone been here before and can give me advice? I have already emailed the embassy and am awaiting a reply.

Thanks!

• Liked: 4985
Re: Changing Name in UK and US
« Reply #1 on: September 24, 2018, 10:53:42 AM »
It is a pain and expensive to change your name.  The best time to do it would be within 90 days of your renewal of your spouse visa.  It's the UK that makes it long and complex.

To change your name, you would:
1.  Renew your US passport in your married name
2.  Within 90 days you must apply for a new BRP in your married name.  This costs a couple of hundred pounds and takes SIX MONTHS to do.  You can't have any travel planned during this time as you are "stuck" in the UK during processing.  There is (currently) an option to do a same day appointment for an additional £510 - though this may be going away in about two weeks.
3.  Once you've done that, you are legally known by your married name.  You'll want to update social security before filing your taxes, but no need to do it before then.