Hello

Sponsored Links

Topic: Full time or Part time  (Read 1322 times)

• Liked: 16
Full time or Part time
« on: October 03, 2018, 07:37:23 PM »

Hi

Now that I am settled in, I started to look for a job.

Sorry to come up with a trivial debate but I don't really have that many friends in UK to discuss with.

I am in my mid 40 and I am child free. I have some experience in a few industries but I don't really have one particular field where I want to devote myself at this point of my life.

While I don't have to pay mortgage or living expenses, I need to be earning spending money such as traveling back and forth to U.S

The average wage here seems way lower than what I can make in NY so I feel discouraged to work my butt off for a full time for that kind of money.

Is anyone on the same situation as mine?

Want to work but don't want to work "that "hard ;)

What types of part time are you people doing if you are doing a part time ?
And if you don't mind sharing with me, what sort of income range should I expect?

I would appreciate some directions.

• Liked: 6110
Re: Full time or Part time
« Reply #1 on: October 03, 2018, 07:40:05 PM »
I can't help directly with this but wanted to wish you lots of luck in your job search!  :)

• Liked: 957
« Reply #2 on: October 03, 2018, 07:43:27 PM »
I feel like you have the right attitude if you only need spending money. Would you be open to working for charities? That's where I see the most part time work posted.

The salary sticker shock is the worst. Cost of living here is higher thanks to real estate but wages have been stagnant for years. :(

Good luck with your search!

Sent from my Nexus 5X using Tapatalk

• Liked: 239
« Reply #3 on: October 03, 2018, 08:23:58 PM »
Same boat.  I’m looking for part time now. I want to get used to how things are here before I dive in full time. Plus the nursing council here make it very difficult and expensive to get registered so it’ll be a while before I could go part time anyway.