Hello

Sponsored Links

Topic: When to claim Social Security  (Read 1071 times)

• Liked: 6
When to claim Social Security
« on: September 28, 2019, 03:59:57 PM »
Hi,
I am a dual US/UK citizen resident in the UK. I can’t decide whether to start claiming SS at 63 (nearly there) or wait until I can clam the full amount at 66 years 6 months. I’ve done the math to the best of my ability, including WEP estimate that starts from 66 when I get my UK State Pension. I’ve calculated up until age 80 that I’ll get $1000 more by waiting to claim the full SS. Obviously that  increases significantly the longer I live (Oh for that crystal ball).However, I’m no longer  working and will need to withdraw from my IRA  to support myself for the next 3.5 years.
 I’m thinking that SS is probably a safer bet than the financial market given the unsettled times we are living, and wonder if the safest option for  long term would be to wait until I’m 66.5.
Does anyone have any advice?. My husband thinks I should claim earlier, and it is tempting.
Many thanks in advance.

• Liked: 718
Re: When to claim Social Security
« Reply #1 on: September 28, 2019, 04:19:36 PM »
If it is just you involved then it is impossible to say for certain which is better. Easy of course if you knew when you were going to die.

In our case we are both dual citizens and my SS is worth much more than my wife’s so as a sort of insurance I am waiting until age 70 so then when I die she will retain my much higher SS. That said, if she files early, before her FRA, then she will get a reduced SS including after I die. (I am a year older and her family have a lot of members living well into their 80s and 90s)
Dual USC/UKC living in the UK since May 2016

• Liked: 149
« Reply #2 on: September 28, 2019, 04:31:16 PM »