Hello
Guest

Sponsored Links


Topic: Using Transferwise to send money TO the USA  (Read 565 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

  • *
  • Posts: 5005

  • Liked: 530
  • Joined: Sep 2015
Using Transferwise to send money TO the USA
« on: September 04, 2020, 12:06:11 AM »
Ok, I've been trying to sort this out for a bit and not gotten too far. I have a transferwise account I've been using to send money from my USA bank to my UK bank. I would now like to be able to reverse that process but can't seem to find a way to do it. Short of setting up an entirely new account, does anyone who uses TW know how to do a "reverse" transfer?


  • *
  • Posts: 4051

  • Liked: 824
  • Joined: Apr 2016
Re: Using Transferwise to send money TO the USA
« Reply #1 on: September 04, 2020, 01:24:09 AM »
Ok, I've been trying to sort this out for a bit and not gotten too far. I have a transferwise account I've been using to send money from my USA bank to my UK bank. I would now like to be able to reverse that process but can't seem to find a way to do it. Short of setting up an entirely new account, does anyone who uses TW know how to do a "reverse" transfer?
Have you set up the GBP account as one you can send money from? I've gone both ways with mine, just choosing the correct accounts.

(sorry it was late when I posted, fixed USD to say GBP)
« Last Edit: September 04, 2020, 10:45:30 AM by margo »


  • *
  • Posts: 2489

  • Liked: 331
  • Joined: Nov 2012
  • Location: Eee, bah gum.
Re: Using Transferwise to send money TO the USA
« Reply #2 on: September 04, 2020, 08:49:46 AM »
As Margo says you need to set up the from and to accounts in the correct direction. I just had a quick attempt to go GBP to USD and TWise prompts me for the routing number and account number of the receiving bank in the USA as I have only ever pulled money from there, never sent money to there. Once the receiving account in the USA is set up and receives the first transfer then it should be remembered for future transfers.
Dual USC/UKC living in the UK since May 2016


  • *
  • Posts: 5005

  • Liked: 530
  • Joined: Sep 2015
Re: Using Transferwise to send money TO the USA
« Reply #3 on: September 04, 2020, 11:02:54 AM »
Have you set up the GBP account as one you can send money from? I've gone both ways with mine, just choosing the correct accounts.

(sorry it was late when I posted, fixed USD to say GBP)

I don't know. I set it up three years ago.... How would I tell?


  • *
  • Posts: 4051

  • Liked: 824
  • Joined: Apr 2016
Re: Using Transferwise to send money TO the USA
« Reply #4 on: September 04, 2020, 11:08:27 AM »
I don't know. I set it up three years ago.... How would I tell?
I would do the "start transfer" and choose GBP to USD and see if you can choose the UK account. :) Both of mine show up under my accounts, and my husbands is under recipients.


  • *
  • Posts: 15739

  • Liked: 5313
  • Joined: Sep 2010
Re: Using Transferwise to send money TO the USA
« Reply #5 on: September 04, 2020, 11:12:44 AM »
If you're still having trouble, just give them a call. The customer service is great.
March 28th 2013-Moved to UK, husband on spouse visa.Oct 20th 2015-Applied by mail for FLR(M).Feb 1st 2016 FLR(M).March 7th 2018 ILR. YAY! March 21st NCS&JCAP appointment.


  • *
  • Posts: 2489

  • Liked: 331
  • Joined: Nov 2012
  • Location: Eee, bah gum.
Re: Using Transferwise to send money TO the USA
« Reply #6 on: September 04, 2020, 01:04:28 PM »
If you're still having trouble, just give them a call. The customer service is great.

Wow, that’s a bit radical, surely it’s better to ask anonymous folks on the internet   :)
Dual USC/UKC living in the UK since May 2016


  • *
  • Posts: 15739

  • Liked: 5313
  • Joined: Sep 2010
Re: Using Transferwise to send money TO the USA
« Reply #7 on: September 04, 2020, 01:07:44 PM »
Wow, that’s a bit radical, surely it’s better to ask anonymous folks on the internet   :)

Almost always!  ;D
March 28th 2013-Moved to UK, husband on spouse visa.Oct 20th 2015-Applied by mail for FLR(M).Feb 1st 2016 FLR(M).March 7th 2018 ILR. YAY! March 21st NCS&JCAP appointment.


  • *
  • Posts: 5005

  • Liked: 530
  • Joined: Sep 2015
Re: Using Transferwise to send money TO the USA
« Reply #8 on: September 04, 2020, 01:16:37 PM »
I would do the "start transfer" and choose GBP to USD and see if you can choose the UK account. :) Both of mine show up under my accounts, and my husbands is under recipients.

It does not on mine. I have it set up only to transfer from usa to uk. So I guess I'll have to set up a new account.


  • *
  • Posts: 5005

  • Liked: 530
  • Joined: Sep 2015
Re: Using Transferwise to send money TO the USA
« Reply #9 on: September 04, 2020, 01:19:23 PM »
Almost always!  ;D

Actually, quite often it is better to talk to the end-users who may have needed to do the same thing.   ;D

I do not have a phone yet, and get charged for outgoing calls here at the hotel. I have already been on chat with TW and it was not at all helpful.

It would appear that the only thing to do is to set up a new account that is the reverse of the one I currently have. Then make my transfer, then kill the account as the UK bank account will then be closed.


  • *
  • Posts: 4051

  • Liked: 824
  • Joined: Apr 2016
Re: Using Transferwise to send money TO the USA
« Reply #10 on: September 04, 2020, 01:21:11 PM »
Actually, quite often it is better to talk to the end-users who may have needed to do the same thing.   ;D

I do not have a phone yet, and get charged for outgoing calls here at the hotel. I have already been on chat with TW and it was not at all helpful.

It would appear that the only thing to do is to set up a new account that is the reverse of the one I currently have. Then make my transfer, then kill the account as the UK bank account will then be closed.
It should give you the option to add the account! But creating a new one just for the transfer should work too.


  • *
  • Posts: 4051

  • Liked: 824
  • Joined: Apr 2016
Re: Using Transferwise to send money TO the USA
« Reply #11 on: September 04, 2020, 01:23:32 PM »
https://transferwise.com/help/articles/2932129/nominating-a-primary-account

You should be able to switch to using the recipient account as the one you send from as long as the name matches the transferwise account name.


  • *
  • Posts: 5005

  • Liked: 530
  • Joined: Sep 2015
Re: Using Transferwise to send money TO the USA
« Reply #12 on: September 04, 2020, 01:55:29 PM »
Yeah, unfortunately when I set it up I used my old name. I'll check with them once their chat is available (it's not right now). I can see how to add my us account as the primary account to receive dollars, but cannot see how to designate my uk account as the sending account. Will see what they say - perhaps this chat person will be a little more clear. Thanks anyway.


  • *
  • Posts: 15739

  • Liked: 5313
  • Joined: Sep 2010
Re: Using Transferwise to send money TO the USA
« Reply #13 on: September 04, 2020, 02:01:51 PM »
Actually, quite often it is better to talk to the end-users who may have needed to do the same thing.   ;D

I do not have a phone yet, and get charged for outgoing calls here at the hotel. I have already been on chat with TW and it was not at all helpful.

It would appear that the only thing to do is to set up a new account that is the reverse of the one I currently have. Then make my transfer, then kill the account as the UK bank account will then be closed.

Exactly!  ;D

I don't think they'll let you have 2 accounts due to money laundering precautions but I'm sure they'll be able to advise you how to do the transfer in the direction you're looking for.
March 28th 2013-Moved to UK, husband on spouse visa.Oct 20th 2015-Applied by mail for FLR(M).Feb 1st 2016 FLR(M).March 7th 2018 ILR. YAY! March 21st NCS&JCAP appointment.


  • *
  • Posts: 2489

  • Liked: 331
  • Joined: Nov 2012
  • Location: Eee, bah gum.
Re: Using Transferwise to send money TO the USA
« Reply #14 on: September 04, 2020, 03:40:05 PM »
Yeah, unfortunately when I set it up I used my old name. I'll check with them once their chat is available (it's not right now). I can see how to add my us account as the primary account to receive dollars, but cannot see how to designate my uk account as the sending account. Will see what they say - perhaps this chat person will be a little more clear. Thanks anyway.

That may well be the problem right there.

If the Transferwise customer support number in the USA is toll free then you can use Skype or similar. I’ve done this for years when I needed to talk to a US bank or other company while traveling or living overseas.
Dual USC/UKC living in the UK since May 2016


Sponsored Links