Hello

Sponsored Links

Topic: Tax on Pensions / Tax Treaty  (Read 699 times)

• Liked: 0
Tax on Pensions / Tax Treaty
« on: December 19, 2020, 03:43:26 PM »
Hi again...

I am a UK citizen, but I lived in the USA for some time (with a green card, which I no longer have, I am now a non resident alien) and have money in an IRA in the USA. My wife is a USA citizen and also has money in an IRA in the USA.

We are currently resident in the UK. Assuming we remain here when we retire this is what I understand about taxation of pensions. Is this understanding correct.

If I take regular withdrawals from my IRA then it won't be taxable in the USA, but would be taxable in the UK (as normal income...so would be added to any UK pension income and normal income tax rates applied)? My UK income is of course not relevant for US taxation.

For my wife, likewise regular withdrawals from her IRA won't be taxable in the USA, but would be taxable in the UK (added to any UK pension). But any UK pension income would be subject to US tax (but likely no US tax would actually be payable due to credit for UK tax paid....UK taxes being generally higher than US)?

Assuming this correct - what counts as "regular withdrawals"? And how are other withdrawals treated?

Thanks
Matt

• Liked: 716
Re: Tax on Pensions / Tax Treaty
« Reply #1 on: December 19, 2020, 03:54:00 PM »
The bits I think I can answer are as follows.

Like me your wife is a USC living in England. The US will tax all her worldwide income with the exception of her US SS and her UK equivalent, OAP, both of which are taxed only in the UK as per the treaty. Her IRA withdrawals will be taxed in both countries but she will be able to claim back the UK tax paid as foreign tax credits when she files her US taxes.

Dual USC/UKC living in the UK since May 2016

« Reply #2 on: December 20, 2020, 01:13:41 PM »
Thanks---

I think I had missed some of the detail of the treaty....

After reading a bit more my understanding of the treaty is: