Hello

Sponsored Links

Topic: Careers That Pay Well In The UK ie enough to support a family  (Read 7641 times)

• Banned

• Liked: 0
Hi. I'm a Brit thinking of returning to the UK.  I'll have to move back when my work permit expires in 2008. Currently I'm a lawyer with 3 yrs of experience and earn about $60,000 USD/yr here in Utah, which is more than enough to live on in this geographical location - if you're single.

I have figured how to take the UK bar exams and requalify. It's less difficult than moving from one state bar to another within the US. However, the salaries paid are shockingly low, especially considering the cost of living. I typed in my salary and city in a cost of living calculator and it said I would need to earn about 120K sterling in London to maintain my standard of living on $60,000 here!! Yet salaries in London for someone with my yrs of experience and in my particular area - litigation - average about 35K! with those with 5-10 under their belt earning, on average, 50-60K.

now, i'd like to have a family, purchase a decent home, say 4 bedrooms in a decent area within at least a 30-45min commute.

Does anyone know of any occupations that pay better than law? I really enjoy it, but would get more satisfaction out of providing for my family.

Who earns a decent London salary ie enough for mortgage on a decent home not too flung out, and enough to support some kids? what qualifications did you get and what job do you do? is computers a good field?

Re: Careers That Pay Well In The UK ie enough to support a family
« Reply #1 on: March 12, 2005, 12:25:21 PM »
The mods may move this post to "On the Job" so you get a better response.

BTW, I work in the IT department of a US investment bank here in London and while my pay is not bad, I would hope I can do better.  I don't have a mortgage, but my rent for a 1BR apartment is equivalent to paying a mortgage.   :-\\\\ 

bvamin

• US to UK to US to UK.
    • Flying Nunns
  • Liked: 8