Hello

Sponsored Links

Topic: Sorry, I don't want to be your Facebook Friend!  (Read 4505 times)

• Liked: 0
Sorry, I don't want to be your Facebook Friend!
« on: August 18, 2009, 04:52:40 PM »
My high school class just had its 30th reunion.  I went to a small high school in Montana and there were 34 of us who graduated together.  I moved there when I was a freshman, but most of the class had started kindegarten together and so they were a tight knit group, and I can understand their nostalgia.    However, I just don't have the same connection.  I never lived in the town after I left for university and my parents no longer live there.  I have one person that I have stayed in touch with from that class (truly a BFF!) and she does not live in the area either.

Well, now I have a bunch of old classmates (and people who were years ahead and behind my graduating class) asking to be friends on Facebook.  This going to sound harsh, but I don't really want to add them to my Facebook list.  Is that so wrong?    These are people that I really only had the most tenuous of relationships with over 30 years ago and have not spoken to since.  I have already ignored a couple but they keep popping up again asking to be friends.  Why is this making me feel guilty?

“I haven't got the slightest idea how to change people, but still I keep a long list of prospective candidates just in case I should ever figure it out.” ~David Sedaris

• Liked: 4
Re: Sorry, I don't want to be your Facebook Friend!
« Reply #1 on: August 18, 2009, 04:56:14 PM »
You can set your profile that it can't be searched...then people can't ask you to be friends?

« Reply #2 on: August 18, 2009, 04:59:32 PM »
Why is this making me feel guilty?

Most people don't want to seem mean. We're kinda conditioned that way. And rejecting someone's overture of friendship seems really harsh. Even if it is just facebook friendship.