Hello

Sponsored Links

Topic: Is tax free lump sum payment from UK pension subject to US tax  (Read 7507 times)

• Liked: 0
Is tax free lump sum payment from UK pension subject to US tax
« on: October 25, 2018, 05:13:14 PM »
I am a UKC/USC resident in the UK for over 40 years. I am confused about treaties concerning double taxation of pensions. My pension was from Universities Superannuation Scheme (USS) and I had a 25% tax free lump sum payment when my pension started.
I would be grateful for any clarification as to whether I would be taxed on the lump sum payment by the IRS and by how much. I am hoping that it isn’t taxable.

• Liked: 672
Re: Is tax free lump sum payment from UK pension subject to US tax
« Reply #1 on: October 25, 2018, 05:59:00 PM »
https://www.gov.uk/government/publications/usa-tax-treaties

I'm not an accountant or an expert. But if you check articles 17 & 18 (pensions) perhaps you'll get your answer? (My reading is that if you are a UK resident, even if a citizen of the USA, and your pension is a UK pension, it gets taxed only in the UK.)

Pensions, social security, annuities, alimony, and child support
1. (a) Pensions and other similar remuneration beneficially owned by a
resident of a Contracting State shall be taxable only in that State.

(b) Notwithstanding sub-paragraph a) of this paragraph, the amount of
any such pension or remuneration paid from a pension scheme established in the other
Contracting State that would be exempt from taxation in that other State if the
beneficial owner were a resident thereof shall be exempt from taxation in the firstmentioned
State.
2. Notwithstanding the provisions of paragraph 1 of this Article, a lump-sum
payment derived from a pension scheme established in a Contracting State and
beneficially owned by a resident of the other Contracting State shall be taxable only in
the first-mentioned State.
3. Notwithstanding the provisions of paragraph 1 of this Article, payments