Hello

Sponsored Links

Topic: Being a citizen or not?  (Read 2436 times)

• Liked: 0
Being a citizen or not?
« on: June 20, 2005, 04:08:19 PM »
Its probably on here, but I have missed it....do you HAVE to become a citizen of the UK? I got my leave to remain for an indefinite period in July of 2002.....so does that mean I will have to take that darn test? If so, I am in for it, I hate tests and is the major reason I dont drive over here! LOL...Thanks for any help!

Re: Being a citizen or not?
« Reply #1 on: June 20, 2005, 06:08:28 PM »
Of course not!
You can remain on ILR forever, if you like.   :)

« Reply #2 on: June 20, 2005, 06:35:01 PM »
Of course not!
You can remain on ILR forever, if you like. :)

Like me.   :)

« Reply #3 on: June 20, 2005, 06:44:33 PM »
I have been kicking around getting my dual nationality for a few years but just never really get around to it. Maybe I will do it next year.

« Reply #4 on: June 20, 2005, 08:59:34 PM »
Thanks everybody, thats such a relief! LOL....No test to worry about...  ;D

« Reply #5 on: June 20, 2005, 10:08:40 PM »
so does that mean I will have to take that darn test? If so, I am in for it, I hate tests and is the major reason I dont drive over here! LOL...Thanks for any help!

What test? If you mean "knowledge of British life" (or whatever they will call it) this is at least months away. If you're eligible now you can apply for BC and only have to prove a working knowledge of the English language which seems straightforward based on your post.

I'd been here for 10 years before I finally decided to become naturalized. In the end though I'm really glad I did because I like the additional flexibility; I'm happy enough here at the moment but now can legally live and work anywhere in the EU.

So, like an ex-smoker I'm now proselytizing about this - get in now if you can because it's only going to get harder and harder to get citizenship.

« Reply #6 on: June 20, 2005, 10:25:20 PM »